I am curious, can proliferate be applied to planes-walkers with loyalty counters on them?

proliferate text states:

You choose any number of permanents and/or players with counters on them, then give each another counter of a kind already there.

And planeswalkers are both players AND permanents, So I see no reason that it shouldn't work. Are there rules against it?


Yes you can proliferate loyalty counters on planeswalkers because they are permanents.

Planeswalkers are not players however, the only time they sort-of act like players is "If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead." And really that is just a rule so that cards like Lightning Bolt will be effective against them without needing errata.

110.4. There are five permanent types: artifact, creature, enchantment, land, and planeswalker.

  • 1
    So... In theory, could I use ral zarek (gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=ral+zarek) with some inexorable tides (gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/…) to possibly gain infinite turns via quick, plentiful, cheap spells?
    – tuskiomi
    Nov 10 '16 at 16:02
  • @tuskiomi You can, though there are significantly easier (and more reliable) ways to get infinite turns
    – diego
    Nov 10 '16 at 16:04
  • ...go on... I want to hear
    – tuskiomi
    Nov 10 '16 at 16:05
  • 3
    @tuskiomi That isn't really what comments are for, but if you join us in Board & Card Games Chat we could answer that question for you.
    – diego
    Nov 10 '16 at 16:07
  • 3
    Quickly just for anyone looking in from the outside, the big one everyone knows about for infinite turn combos would be the Time vault - Voltaic Key combo, often simplified to Volt(Vault)-Key. Nov 10 '16 at 20:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.