One of the mythos cards in the game says that the investigator is out of ammo and that she needs to discard her weapon. Would you interpret this as the card should be removed from the game as oppossed to the cards that says the investigator needs to drop the item, ie. in the current room.

I would have said remove the card if it wasn't for that the investigators have an action called "discard" where they actually drop the items in the current room.

1 Answer 1


I interpret that card as "Discard means discard. Place in the discard pile."

The action is something that players can do to leave equipment cached for each other.

The mythos card is an act of aggression carried out by the Keeper. It probably costs Threat. There is also zero support in the fiction for a weapon becoming reloaded by being dropped.

EDIT: OK. So, I played Mansions last night for the first time in a while, and came up with this card. It's clearly Discard on the Mythos card and Drop in the Investigator action list. There's no confusion here at all, no interpretation necessary.

  • Seems a bit harsh in relation to the cost for the keeper on the other hand weapons are a real pain for the keeper :) I believe you are right though
    – Skadlig
    Commented May 1, 2011 at 11:14
  • Yep, you discard the weapon.
    – Daniel Lim
    Commented May 3, 2011 at 23:25

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .