-1

Is Beseech the Queen in my commander colors identity? My commander is Drana, Kalastria Bloodchief.

  • 3
    Is there a particular reason why you think it wouldn't be included in Drana's color identity? – diego Nov 18 '16 at 21:41
0

Yes, its color identity is black so you can play it in any deck that includes black in its commander's color identity (like Drana).

A hybrid mana symbol grants the color of both sides of the symbol to the color identity of the card. However Beseech the Queen uses {2/B} hybrid symbols which are colorless and black. Since colorless is not a color black is the only color added to the cards color identity.

107.4e Hybrid mana symbols are also colored mana symbols. Each one represents a cost that can be paid in one of two ways, as represented by the two halves of the symbol. A hybrid symbol such as {W/U} can be paid with either white or blue mana, and a monocolored hybrid symbol such as {2/B} can be paid with either one black mana or two mana of any type. A hybrid mana symbol is all of its component colors.

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card’s mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.