6

Augur of Skulls has

{1}{B}: Regenerate Augur of Skulls.

and

Sacrifice Augur of Skulls: Target player discards two cards. Activate this ability only during your upkeep.

Can I sacrifice and regenerate Augur of Skulls multiple times in the same turn as long as I have the mana open?

14

No, that won't work

Regeneration prevents the destruction of a permanent, but sacrificing a permanent is different from destroying it:

701.16. Sacrifice

701.16a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent he or she doesn’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.

3
  • 2
    In short, Regeneration does not fix a Sacrifice. If you Sacrifice a Permanent as a Cost (Left hand of the colon, it goes to the graveyard. Nothing can prevent this from happening, because it is a cost. – Nelson Nov 21 '16 at 1:24
  • 7
    @Nelson It has nothing to do with being a cost or an effect. If the cost was "destroy a creature you control", regeneration would save the creature. If "sacrifice a creature" was the effect, regeneration still wouldn't save it. – Hackworth Nov 21 '16 at 4:57
  • 2
    Sacrifice as an effect can be prevented, or redirected, or replaced. I'm not really alluding that regeneration can save a sacrifice, but a sacrifice as an effect isn't nearly as final as sacrifice as a cost. The bottom line is, in no situation, will you be able to save a creature from Sacrifice as a Cost. You can save a creature from sacrifice as an effect, but not through regeneration. – Nelson Nov 21 '16 at 5:01
5

No, you can't do that, because Regeneration doesn't protect against a Sacrifice.

The rules for Sacrifice even explicitly assert as much:

701.15a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent he or she doesn’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.

For clarity, Regenerate in an ability means "The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat."

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.