If I have a Diffusion Sliver out, are my Slivers protected from Wrath of God? What about Chainer's Edict?


2 Answers 2


No, they are not protected

Diffusion Sliver's ability is only triggered when a Sliver becomes a 'target'. A creature is only targeted by spells or abilities that actually have the word 'target' on it. For instance, Giant Growth. From the Comprehensive rules:

114.1a An instant or sorcery spell is targeted if its spell ability identifies something it will affect by using the phrase “target [something],”

(Note that rule 114 in its entirety describes 'targeting', this is just a specific excerpt for instants and sorceries.)

The Sliver needs to be identified as that 'target [something]' in order for this specific ability to trigger. On instants and sorceries, this is spelled out; casting an Aura (ie Unholy Strength) on a Sliver also triggers the ability added to it by Diffusion Sliver, as they have an implicit target:

114.1b Aura spells are always targeted.

Casting an equipment would not trigger the ability, as they enter play unattached and not targeting anything. Their equip-ability however would count as becoming a target.

To look a little closer at what spells do and do not target the Slivers:

  • Twiddle would target the Sliver and trigger this ability.
  • Turnabout wouldn't, because the card doesn't target a creature, it targets a player.
  • Call to Glory would not target the Sliver, as it doesn't target anything.

No, the key word here is "target". Your slivers get an ability that triggers whenevery a spell or ability gets cast/activated that contains the word "target", e.g. Doom Blade. Any spells/abilities which do not "target" your slivers are uneffected by diffusion sliver, as here in your example edicts don't target your creatures but you and wrath doesn't target at all.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .