4

When you land on a chance or community chest card and it states you have to travel to a certain street/railway or Utility but do you collect 200 for passing GO as the card doesn't state if you should or shouldn't like some other cards do.

enter image description here

Found the actual card:

enter image description here

  • 3
    Which card(s) in particular? You mention it doesn't state if you should or shouldn't collect $200 like some other cards do, so which cards don't mention it? As far as I remember, the only card which states that you don't collect $200 if passing go is the "Go to Jail". All of the other cards (to the best of my memory) mention to collect $200 if passing GO – mmathis Dec 7 '16 at 16:15
  • i believe the card is one that states you should travel to the nearest railway station, if the station is unowned you can buy it, if owned then you have to pay twice the amount you owe the owner. – bLAZYY Dec 7 '16 at 17:05
  • @bLAZYY - Please do some research and edit it into the question. Currently this sounds like "I remember such and such and it doesn't make sense". If you can provide actual quotes from / pictures of the cards which demonstrates your point, then this would become a valid question. – AndyT Dec 13 '16 at 15:48
  • @AndyT the game is currently with my brother for Christmas so wont be able to get a picture of the specific card until the 25th so i edited the Question with an example of what the card looks like but utility is used instead of railway the concept is still the same. – bLAZYY Dec 13 '16 at 17:11
  • @bLAZYY - Doesn't need to be your actual set, your example picture is acceptable proof that such a card exists. This card doesn't exist in any set I've ever played with, hence my previous expectation that you were misremembering. – AndyT Dec 13 '16 at 17:16
2

The next location always means in travel direction, and your figure will move along the board as if you rolled a number equal to the distance. If you pass GO on the way, you will indeed collect 200 dollars, as stated in the official rules:

Each time a player's token lands on or passes over GO, whether by throwing the dice or drawing a card, the Banker pays that player a $200 salary.

This is true for all cards, except for the card that states "Go directly to Jail", meaning you don't traverse the board as normal. You can think of your figure being teleported there - so you don't get 200 dollars either.

When you are sent to Jail you cannot collect your $200 salary in that move since, regardless of where your token is on the board, you must move directly into Jail. (...)

  • Often the card says, say, "Advance to Mayfair", so clearly if you start between Mayfair and Go, you collect 200: if not, not. – TimLymington Dec 8 '16 at 11:39
  • @TimLymington Its impossible to Pass Go when traveling to Mayfair from anywhere on the board as Mayfair is the last position on the board. – bLAZYY Dec 13 '16 at 17:13
  • My confusion is why some cards state "if you pass go collect 200" and others simply don't, its not like they have no room to write it. – bLAZYY Dec 13 '16 at 17:14
1

Game play in Monopoly is in a clockwise direction. "Advance" means to move one's token in Monopoly's normal direction of movement (clockwise).

If, while following "Chance" or "Community Chest" instructions to "advance" to the target location, one passes "GO" one would collect $200.

Note: "Advance to the nearest ______". Would not have one go counter-clockwise (fall back, retreat, reverse) even if by doing so one would arrive at the nearest _______. "Advance" is the operative word; not "nearest".

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.