7

Case 1:

Player 1 has Leovold, Emissary of Trest and Teferi's Puzzle Box on the Battlefield.
Player 2 starts with his draw phase and has one card in his hand.

I think he puts his card on bottom of his library and draws a new one. However he is not able to take another.

Case 2: Player 1 has Leovold and Teferi's Puzzle Box on the Battlefield.
Player 2 starts with his draw phase and has no card in his hand.

Therefore "nothing" happens with the Puzzle Box and he only draws a card. Am I right or did I miss something? Do you feel this combo is that strong?

  • 3
    Not all hope is lost here! There remains a priority window between the draw from the draw step and Puzzlebox forcing you to ditch your hand, where Player 2 could jam an instant speed kill spell on Leovold (or Puzzlebox, although the recovery will be slower). A really cruel combo adds Geier Reach Sanitarium, because during the opponent's upkeep you could force them to draw and discard, with no priority between the two. Once you grind them down to 0 cards in hand (with the Puzzlebox or something else), Sanitarium truly locks them out of casting spells from hand ever. – monoRed Dec 8 '16 at 15:55
11

Even though the phrase "beginning of the draw step" suggests otherwise, those abilities trigger after the turn-based action of drawing a card for the turn.

504. Draw Step

504.1. First, the active player draws a card. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.

504.2. Second, the active player gets priority. (See rule 116, “Timing and Priority.”)

Regardless how many cards Player 2 has in this case, they will draw a card, then Teferi's Puzzle Box triggers, eventually resolves, then has that player put all cards on the bottom of their library.
Leovold, Emissary of Trest will prevent them from drawing any other cards, as they've already drawn a card this turn.

  • May want to add the part wher a "can't" always wins. – Neil Meyer Dec 12 '16 at 12:03
  • @NeilMeyer: It does play a part here, but it's a very basic rule that I choose to omit in answers for the sake of cleanliness. Nevertheless, here's a link to the rule for anyone interested. – TheThirdMan Dec 12 '16 at 13:26
  • This combo is hilarious for all sorts of reasons. I love it. – Adam Wells Dec 12 '16 at 19:35
3

The draw happens at the beginning of your draw step, then the ability of Teferi's Puzzle Box is put on the stack. Therefore, Player 2 will draw a card, then put all his/her cards on the bottom of their library in any order and not draw any more cards.

Yes, it is very unfortunate.

  • Now i get it thank you! Didnt know you draw your card first. Damm that hurts. – Fallender Dec 8 '16 at 15:57
  • @Fallender Be sure to accept an answer if one of them satisfies your question, by clicking on the check mark near the answer. You can always come back later and change the accepted answer if someone writes a better one. – Rainbolt Dec 9 '16 at 14:13
  • @Rainbolt, roger that. – Fallender Dec 23 '16 at 9:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.