-1

This question already has an answer here:

My Longtusk Cub is on the battlefield. On my opponent's turn he brings in Reflector Mage, targeting my cub to return my cub to my hand. I respond with Blossoming Defense to make my cub hexproof. Does my cub remain on the battlefield or back in my hand?

Second question It is my opponent's turn. My Bristling Hydra is on the battlefield.
I spend energy to make the hydra hexproof and +1/+1. My opponent casts reflector mage, targeting the hydra. Does the hydra remain on the board?

I would say cub stays and hydra goes to hand. Thanks for your help.

marked as duplicate by doppelgreener, Drunk Cynic, David Z, SocioMatt, Michael Snook Dec 22 '16 at 20:41

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • I think we already covered the interactions here in the deadlock trap question. If there's some reason you're not sure what goes on here, can you elaborate on what about the situation strikes you as different? – doppelgreener Dec 22 '16 at 19:09
  • @doppelgreener The second question I don't think it is a duplicate, but it could use some clarifications like was the Mage given flash somehow, or did the Hydra's ability resolve. – diego Dec 22 '16 at 19:15
1

Does my cub remain on the battlefield or back in my hand?

It remains on the battlefield. Reflector Mage's ability does target ("When Reflector Mage enters the battlefield, return target creature an opponent controls to its owner's hand.[...]"), and Hexproof makes that an invalid target:

CR 702.11b “Hexproof” on a permanent means “This permanent can’t be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.”

The Reflector Mage, and its triggered ability, are both controlled by your opponent, so the target is illegal. Since the ability has all illegal targets, it is countered upon resolution, and none of its effects happen.

My Bristling Hydra is on the battlefield. I spend energy to make the hydra hexproof and +1/+1. My opponent casts Reflector Mage, targeting the hydra.

This cannot happen as described. If you have activated, and resolved, the hydra's ability, it cannot be chosen as a target for Reflector Mage's ability.

That being said, if Reflector Mage is entering the battlefield in response to your hydra's activated ability (perhaps your opponent cast Collected Company in response, and found a Reflector Mage), then yes, it can be chosen as a target. Unless you choose to respond to the targeting by activating the ability a second time, then the hydra will return to your hand.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.