Assuming I had Precursor Golem (and many other golems) in my graveyard, if I use Refurbish on Precursor Golem, would it return all my golems from the graveyard to the battlefield?

No, that wouldn't work.

Unless a permanent's ability specifically states otherwise (e.g. Carrionette), or the ability would only make sense when activated in another zone (e.g. Bloodsoaked Champion), abilities only work while that permanent is on the battlefield.

112.6. Abilities of an instant or sorcery spell usually function only while that object is on the stack. Abilities of all other objects usually function only while that object is on the battlefield. The exceptions are as follows:

112.6b An ability that states which zones it functions in functions only from those zones.

Also, when Precursor Golem says "Golem" without further qualifiers, as for example in "a single Golem", then the wording is shorthand for "Golem permanent", an object on the battlefield with the Golem subtype.

109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.

  • Okay thank you that helped me out a lot – Taylor Dec 24 '16 at 5:14

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.