2

When playing the initial 30 points, can I use a tile from an existing meld on the board to complete my meld without using the points from that tile? For instance, I have a red 9, 11, and 12 in my rack, which is 32 points, but I need the red 10 on the board to play them. Is this a legal move?

8

From the rules (emphasis added):

After players have made their initial plays, they can also build on other sets on the table...

I think this implies that while you are making your initial meld, you cannot use the existing melds.

|improve this answer|||||
  • 1
    My rules state: "the first set or sets must add up to a minimum of 30, you are not allowed to build upon, or manipulate any sets until you have laid down and entered the game". By you using another tile you are manipulating them. Not a legal move sorry. – Clive Jan 13 '17 at 3:07
  • Sounds like there are multiple versions of the rules and they are in agreement (though some are written more clearly than others). – Benjamin Cosman Jan 13 '17 at 6:00
0

You must have 30 points on your board only. You cannot use another player's tiles to make your 30 points for your 1st meld.

|improve this answer|||||

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.