2

Consider the following scenario in Game of Thrones Board Game:

enter image description here

I am playing with the green pieces.

QUESTION 1. Can I march with two units onto area C first, apply the combat, and after that decide whether or not I will march with the third unit to B? In other words, can I wait for the combat result to decide what will I do with the rest of my units in A?

QUESTION 2. If it's the case that I can't wait for the combat result, and I must declare everything at once, can I wait for the combat result to decide whether or not I will put a power token on area A?

Motivation of the questions: if possible, for optimal strategy, I would like to attack the blue player first, and depending on the result, I would decide whether or not I want to march with the third unit to B. Also, I would like to be able to decide whether or not to spend a power token on area A after seeing the combat result, because if I lose the combat my pieces would retreat to A and a power token would be unneccssary.

4

Answer 1 "Before resolving combat, all other non-combat movement from the area assigned the March Order must be completed." GoT second edition rule book, page 15, 7th bullet point.

Answer 2 It is not the case. "If a playerleaves an area vacant before initiating combat , he must decide whether or not to establish control of the area before combat begins" GoT second edition rule book, page 24, 4th paragrqph of "establishing control of an area"

  • So when do I decide whether or not to place the power token? – Pedro A Dec 29 '16 at 16:01
  • 2
    Directly after you move the last unit out of an area you decide if you will place a power token to retain it. – D Tagliaferri Dec 29 '16 at 16:24
  • I see, thanks, that answers my questions. But can you provide the sources for those claims? Once you do that I will mark it as accepted. – Pedro A Dec 29 '16 at 16:25
  • sure, If I remember, I do not have my rule book on my at the moment. – D Tagliaferri Dec 29 '16 at 16:27
  • Updated with sources. – D Tagliaferri Dec 29 '16 at 17:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.