I had not played Catan in a long time, but I recently played in a friendly tournament and am wondering (1) if there was a rule change , (2) if the rule they used is correct, or (3) if the rule I thought was correct was correct.
Player A's turn Player A has 9 points on the board. Player B has 6 points on the board. Player C has 7 points on the board. Player D has 9 points on the board.
Player A builds a city and reaches 10 points Player B then reveals 2 VP cards
Does Player B end the game with a score of 6 VP or 8 VP? (in 4th place or 3rd place (moving ahead of C)?)
Looking at the rules, on page 5, it states
You must keep Victory Point Cards hidden. You may only reveal them during your turn and when you are sure that you have 10 victory points—that is, to win the game. Of course, you can reveal them after the end of the game when someone else wins. You may play any number of Victory Point Cards during your turn, even during the turn you purchase them
Based on the wording "after the end of the game", I would assume they don't count.