3

When playing Catan Junior, if all the resources from a stockpile get handed out but more are needed, what happens?

For example, if a player rolls to receive a wood resource but none are left, or multiple players should receive the same resource but there are not enough available for everybody.

2

There appears to be no mention of this in the rulebook. The original, vanilla Catan game rulebook states this:

If there are not enough of a given resource in the supply to fulfill everyone's production, then no one receives any of that resource during that turn.

So that's an option. Another option might be a house-rule along these lines: A player should receive Wood, but there's no more Wood in the stockpile. If that player gives a Wood from his own cache to the bank, he gets to choose another resource. This is basically a 2:1 trade, giving two Wood (one from their hand and one owed them by the bank) for one other resource. This keeps the player happy for he gets resources, and puts some of this resource back in the bank.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    Probably not relevant, but worth noting that this is an updated rule, in older editions, it simply said that the resources were first-come, first-serve. – GendoIkari Jan 18 '17 at 22:50
  • @Gendolkari An older edition of Catan Jr. or regular Catan? – Thunderforge Jan 19 '17 at 15:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.