4

I just want to be clear about how to claim a short tunnel route. Say I am taking a tunnel that requires only one card (red, for instance), if I turn over a red card I need another red (or a locomotive) to match it. But if I turn over 2 further red cards (ie 3 reds in all) do I need further reds or locomotives to match? It would seem strange to have to use 4 red cards in total to take a one card route.

  • 1
    Note that this mechanism is an attempt to reflect the uncertain and treacherous nature of tunneling through mountains. Even short tunnels can be extremely expensive and fatal to build, often with massive delays, which is reflected in your scenario above. – mmathis Jan 25 '17 at 20:24
  • And you always can resign building tunnel if it was too hard and loose move. – Kacper Jan 27 '17 at 21:18
8

You must have an additional train of the appropriate color (or a locomotive) for each card of that color that gets flipped over.

From the Ticket to Ride: Switzerland rules (emphasis added):

When attempting to claim a Tunnel route, a player first lays down the number of cards required. Then the 3 top cards from the Train Car card draw pile are turned face-up. For each card revealed whose color matches the color used to claim the Tunnel (including locomotives), an additional card of the same color (or a locomotive) must be played to successfully claim the Tunnel.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.