Suppose I cast a Vampiric Link on an opponents creature. Does the opponent gain life when this creature does damage or do I gain that life?

1 Answer 1


Vampiric Link says:

Whenever enchanted creature deals damage, you gain that much life.

"You" on a card refers to the controller of the card - and regardless of what Vampiric Link is enchanting, you (the person who cast Vampiric Link) will always* control it. So you'll always be the one gaining life, not your opponent.

*barring any control changing effects that occur

  • This answer is correct, but "an effect [that] causes you to exchange control of two permanents" is an oddly specific example of a control changing effect, which is potentially confusing. Is there any particular reason you singled out that kind of effect?
    – murgatroid99
    Commented Jan 25, 2017 at 18:02
  • 1
    I agree with murgatroid99. I would either remove the note or have it say something like 'barring any control changing effects that may occur'
    – diego
    Commented Jan 25, 2017 at 18:16
  • That's a much better way of wording that caveat. Edited.
    – Ben
    Commented Jan 25, 2017 at 19:20
  • 2
    Also note that if the card designer actually wanted the opposite, he would use the phrase "that creature's controller", not "you".
    – liori
    Commented Jan 25, 2017 at 21:33
  • @liori Or, simply "Enchanted Creature gains Lifelink." Commented Jan 26, 2017 at 15:40

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .