Rules Question:

  1. Player A attack with 1/2 creature

  2. Player B block with Walking Ballista with 1 +1/+1 counter
    And now can player B use Walking Ballista activation ability, after combat damage but before it go to graveyard, to kill 1/2 creature?

No, you cannot. Going to the graveyard (due to damage) is a State-Based action that happens before either player gets priority. Without priority, you can't activate Ballista's ability.

704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. If any state-based actions are performed as a result of a check, the check is repeated; otherwise all triggered abilities that are waiting to be put on the stack are put on the stack, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based actions have been performed as the result of a check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, the appropriate player gets priority.

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.