9

Say that I have activated the Trap Card Shattered Axe on my opponent's monster:

Activate this card by targeting 1 face-up monster on the field. During each of your Standby Phases: It loses 500 ATK. When that target is destroyed, destroy this card.

Before I get a chance to attack it in battle, my opponent manages to tribute the target. Does this mean that the target is "destroyed", and thus Shattered Axe is destroyed along with it? Or is the target not destroyed and Shattered Axe remains on the field, despite the fact that the target is no longer there?

I ask because Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links (a mobile version of the game) does not destroy Shattered Axe if the target card is tributed. It just sits on the field clogging up space and having the turn counter run indefinitely if the monster is removed by tribute. I don't know if that's a bug or intended behavior.

  • I ask because Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links (a mobile version of the game) does not destroy Shattered Axe if the target card is tributed. the same occurs with Call of the Haunted in ygopro. Checking the Rulings for Call of the Haunted on Yu-Gi-Oh! Wikia doesn't suggest an answer. My thoughts are that its effects are temporary (when is resolving in a chain), but as an continuous trap card, it stays in the field until is directly destroyed (i.e, MST, Heavy Storm, Dust Tornado, etc). – Mauricio Arias Olave Feb 9 '17 at 21:00
  • As a side comment, it is perhaps not a great idea to take YGOPro or others as "how things should work", as their programmers could have made some omission mistake on the rules. – DarkCygnus Mar 22 '18 at 0:26
  • @DarkCygnus Duel Links is at least an official product from Konami so it should be accurate. And even if not, there’s a disclaim in the game saying that if they make a programming error, they are still considered to have the rules correct for the purposes of competitive gameplay and such (you can’t write to them and say you should have won the match due to a rules error). – Thunderforge Mar 22 '18 at 2:53
6

According to the official rulebook of Yu-Gi-Oh!, "destroy" means

A card is destroyed when it is sent to the Graveyard due to battle between monsters or by an effect that destroys a card. A card that is returned from the field to the hand or Deck, or, that is sent to the Graveyard as a cost or Tribute, is NOT considered “destroyed.”

This can be found in the rulebook in the glossary part.

Even though Duel Links is a simplified version of the original game, it should follow the basic rules.

3

No. From a legal standpoint, "destroyed" only refers to a situation where a card is either destroyed by an effect that specifically says "destroy" or by battle. When you tribute a card, it is not considered either, but is rather considered a cost than a destruction.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.