8

If I have Thalia's Lieutenant in play and resolve a Metallic Mimic choosing "Human" does Thalia's Lieutenant get a +1/+1 counter?

13

Yes

Metallic Mimic

As Metallic Mimic enters the battlefield, choose a creature type.

Metallic Mimic is the chosen type in addition to its other types.

When you are asked to do something "As X enters the battlefield", you are doing it immediately before it enters. This does not use the stack; when Metallic Mimic resolves you choose a type and it enters as that type, triggering any appropriate ETBs, and no one can do anything in between you choosing the type and Mimic hitting the battlefield.

If it instead read:

When Metallic Mimic enters the battlefield, choose a creature type.

Then it would be a triggered ability; Metallic Mimic would enter the battlefield as a "Shapeshifter", this ability would be put on the stack, and when it resolved you'd get to choose a type (like "Human") and it would become that type. Thalia's Lieutenant's ability would not be triggered.

  • 1
    Interesting, never really appreciated the difference between "When X enters the battlefield..." and "As X enters the battlefield...". Nice addition to the answer. – Nuclear Wang Feb 10 '17 at 18:37
  • @Matt Thanks! Whenever an MTG question asks "does X happen", and X doesn't happen, I try to include counterexample Y, where it WILL happen, because I find those super helpful. – monoRed Feb 10 '17 at 19:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.