8

One of our investigators I1 was lost in time and space. Then, another investigator I2 got a dark pact triggered, and the effect was "Another investigator of your choice is devoured".

1) Can I1 be targeted by I2's dark pact effect?

2) If 1), would I2 actually be devoured? The text says that an investigator lost in time and space cannot be affected by anything.

We reason two things:

a) the wording means that I2 could be targeted but not affected by the devouring

b) given the general theme and the unspoken rule that "if there are various interpretations of a rule in a cooperative game, choose the least helpful", it feels like a loophole that breaks the rules. Therefore, we chose another investigator to be devoured

We chose b). Did we choose "right"?

  • I1 cannot be devoured. I can bet my pants that they also cannot be chosen, but this is isn't official. I can answer when I get a clarification. – tsuma534 Feb 20 '17 at 8:14
  • 1
    I think that it will read the same as "cannot be targeted or affected" but I'm not sure and haven't found any concise answer as of yet which explains it – Wouter Feb 20 '17 at 13:30
4

I think that you are right because of the unspoken rule of cooperative games. I could not find anything in the erratas apart from a reference to "move".

Lost in Time and Space Condition card

You are unaffected by other game effects […]

This does imply that the investigator cannot have any effects at all. So they cannot be a target for anything at all: spells, Dark Pacts, etc…

This is again implied by the errata, although it refers to "moves" and not other specific effects.

Q. Can an investigator with a Lost in Time and Space Condition be moved by another investigator using the Plumb the Void Spell?

A. No. If an effect states that an investigator cannot move, such as a Lost in Time and Space Condition or a Detained Condition, that investigator cannot move on his own nor can he be moved by any effect.

  • 1
    As you said, the unspoken rule of cooperative games should in principle mean we did it right. Neverhtless, what you mention in your answer is that the investigator cannot be affected, but there is no reference to wheter he could be targeted. For example, if you have the pocket watch you can be targeted by a delayed condition but not affected. – Camandros Feb 21 '17 at 17:55
  • Indeed, I could not find an official ruling on this. – Sardathrion Feb 21 '17 at 17:59
1

The investigator lost in time and space cannot be targeted by the dark pact's effect, simply because he is not available for targeting. He is lost in time and space, inaccessible to anyone.

If I'm an ancient one, and let you choose another investigator to be devoured, and you try to get clever on me and choose an investigator who is inaccessible, I would just devour you out of spite. So I think that's just how this should work. Nice try, but no loopholes and wishful thinking.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.