Stack Exchange Network
Stack Exchange network consists of 181 Q&A communities including
Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.
Visit Stack Exchange
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this community
Anybody can ask a question
The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
6 years, 3 months ago
Let's say I control the card
No Mercy. The card states that whenever a creature successfully deals damage to me it gets destroyed.
Now let us suppose:
I also control
Blood Scrivener I have no cards in hand.
I need to draw a card.
Because of Blood Scrivener's ability, I draw 2 cards and I lose 1 life.
Question: Does the loss of life induced by Blood Scrivener count as damage? (And does it cause Blood Scrivener to be destroyed?)
78.5k 10 10 gold badges 213 213 silver badges 310 310 bronze badges
Feb 27, 2017 at 19:08
83 4 4 bronze badges
Damage is different than life loss. For players, damage causes life loss.
119.3a Damage dealt to a player by a source without infect causes that player to lose that much life
So no, the Blood Scrivener isn't destroyed.
Feb 27, 2017 at 19:16
11.1k 1 1 gold badge 32 32 silver badges 59 59 bronze badges
No. Loss of life is not damage - damage causes loss of life. Blood Scrivener will not cause No Mercy to trigger.
Feb 27, 2017 at 19:14
992 7 7 silver badges 9 9 bronze badges
log in to answer this question.
Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged
By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our
Accept all cookies
Necessary cookies only