2

Let's say I control the card No Mercy. The card states that whenever a creature successfully deals damage to me it gets destroyed.

Now let us suppose:

  1. I also control Blood Scrivener
  2. I have no cards in hand.
  3. I need to draw a card.

Because of Blood Scrivener's ability, I draw 2 cards and I lose 1 life.

Question: Does the loss of life induced by Blood Scrivener count as damage? (And does it cause Blood Scrivener to be destroyed?)

2

2 Answers 2

4

Damage is different than life loss. For players, damage causes life loss.

119.3a Damage dealt to a player by a source without infect causes that player to lose that much life

So no, the Blood Scrivener isn't destroyed.

6
  • Yes, damage causes loss of life. But what kind of effect is Blood Scrivener's ability? If it is not a damage effect, what is it then?
    – joern
    Commented Feb 27, 2017 at 19:42
  • 1
    @joern "kind" is not an attribute that effects have in Magic
    – KSFT
    Commented Feb 27, 2017 at 20:14
  • Okay. If it is not possible to categorize this any further, then I accept this answer. "life loss" appears to be a self-contained concept.
    – joern
    Commented Feb 27, 2017 at 20:29
  • Personally I think you have quoted the wrong rule to answer his question
    – Wouter
    Commented Mar 1, 2017 at 15:13
  • 118.3. If an effect causes a player to gain life or lose life, that player’s life total is adjusted accordingly.
    – Wouter
    Commented Mar 1, 2017 at 15:16
0

No. Loss of life is not damage - damage causes loss of life. Blood Scrivener will not cause No Mercy to trigger.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .