5

This question already has an answer here:

Is it possible for me to use Westvale Abbey in a Commander deck that does not use black? I am making a Blue, Green, and White commander deck, and I would like to add Westvale Abbey. Could I use it?

marked as duplicate by Michael Snook, doppelgreener, Community Mar 6 '17 at 21:22

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

4

No, you cannot. Westvale Abbey's color identity is Black.

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card’s mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

903.4c The back face of a double-faced card (see rule 711) is included when determining a card’s color identity. This is an exception to rule 711.4a.

And the definition of color indicator:

204.1. The color indicator is printed to the left of the type line directly below the illustration. It consists of a circular symbol filled in with one or more colors. A color indicator is usually found on nonland cards without a mana cost.

204.2. An object with a color indicator is each color denoted by that color indicator.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.