8

While I'm controlling my opponent's turn, and, say, their commander dies in combat... do I get to choose whether or not their commander goes to the command zone? I'm assuming 'yes', as it is at the choice of its owner, and I'm currently making decisions for the owner.

10

Yes, you do get to choose.

714.5. While controlling another player, a player makes all choices and decisions the controlled player is allowed to make or is told to make by the rules or by any objects. This includes choices and decisions about what to play, and choices and decisions called for by spells and abilities.

Where the commander goes is a choice they're allowed to make by the rules. There's no special exception or anything here, so yup, you can let their commander go to their graveyard if it dies in combat.

  • 5
    Or you can let it get exiled! BWAHAHAHA – Samthere Mar 10 '17 at 10:55
  • @Samthere wait.... if you let their Commander get exiled, will they be unable to cast it again? – Malco Mar 10 '17 at 22:17
  • @Malco Yes, just as they can't cast it again if you let it get put into their graveyard (as in the question/answer) or shuffled into their library. Exile is a bit harder to come back from, though, sure. – Cascabel Mar 10 '17 at 22:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.