8

During my opponent's turn, he plays Fumigate to wipe the board. I respond with Repel the Abominable. Do all of our creatures die, or do none die?

Fumigate:

Destroy all creatures. You gain 1 life for each creature destroyed this way.

Repel the Abominable:

Prevent all damage that would be dealt this turn by non-Human sources.

  • 2
    It says destroy not damage. – Joe W Mar 11 '17 at 20:26
  • 2
    If something does not say the word "damage", it does not do damage. – Nuclear Wang Mar 13 '17 at 12:47
8

Fumigate does no damage; it destroys. All the creatures die; Repel the Abominable does nothing to stop it. If you wanted to keep your creatures, you'd have to seek another means of preventing their destruction, such as by regenerating your creatures (e.g. Dark Dabbling) or making them indestructible (e.g. Boros Charm). For thoroughness, protection wouldn't work.

Damage can lead to a creature being destroyed, but being destroyed doesn't necessarily have to involve any damage at all.

If it did do damage, it'd say so: Wave of Reckoning and Blasphemous Act are board wipes that deal damage.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.