So if my buddy has Emrakul, the Promised End, and it's equipped with Swiftfoot Boots, and I use Pacification Array to "tap target artifact..." can I tap the boots, thus eliminating the hexproof for that turn?

  • 6
    Why do you think tapping the Boots would remove Hexproof?
    – steenbergh
    Apr 10 '17 at 5:55
  • It's basically game over if he gets that equipped and I don't have a destroy target artifact. I was thinking that maybe tapping it would disable its abilities.
    – Justin
    Apr 10 '17 at 5:58

Tapping an artifact, or any other permanent, does not change its abilities, or whether those abilities have an effect, unless the ability says so. Tapped vs untapped is simply part of the status of a permanent [CR 110.6].

Historically, artifact abilities did in fact "turn off" when that artifact was tapped. Many of those cards have since been reworded to explicitly only work when the permanent is untapped. Examples include Winter Orb, Static Orb and Howling Mine.

  • 4
    In addition, tapping an Equipment does not prevent its Equip-ability from being played, unless tapping it is an explicit part of the costs for that ability (though I am unaware of any Equipment having to tap to equip).
    – steenbergh
    Apr 10 '17 at 6:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.