Is it a bug in Duel Links, that when I turn an enemy card from attack to defense position with Bite Shoes, then I can't activate the effect of Tragedy?

Currently I can activate it only with Sphere Kuriboh, Enemy Controller, or Windstorm of Etaqua.

  • You can also activate Tragedy by playing cards during non-Battle phases, such as "Earthquake", during your Main Phase. I have a deck that relies heavily on Tragedy and has a few cards that shift battle positions during the main phase. Apr 12, 2017 at 16:49

2 Answers 2


Keep in mind, that Tragedy cannot be activated in the Damage Step.

So if Bite Shoes is flipped because it is attacked and activate its effect at the end of the Damage Stap, Tragedy cannot be activated.

Edit: Official Source for Duel Links: http://duellinks.gamea.co/c/tq1x92wk

  • Oh so this is not a bug? The other cards work because they are activated before the damage step? This makes sense. Apr 12, 2017 at 12:30

It depends on what card you changed with Bites Shoes.

Tragedy requires that the monster which changed position from attack to defence, be face-up and under your opponent's control.

  • If you changed the battle position of a monster you control, this effect does not apply, and no monsters are destroyed.

  • If you changed the battle position of a defence-position monster to attack position, this effect does not apply, and no monsters are destroyed.

  • If you changed the position of a face-down monster, this effect does not apply, and no monsters are destroyed.

If you changed the battle position of a face-up attack-position monster that your opponent controls, to defence position, then the effect should be activated. Only in this case have you found a bug.

  • Yes, there's no face-down attack position. Apr 12, 2017 at 10:36
  • Ok I sent Konami a bug report. Apr 12, 2017 at 10:51
  • 2
    Crouching Kitten, Face-down attack mode IS a thing, but it can only be done by the effect of a card (The only one I know of is Darkness Approaches, which flips a monster face-down without changing its position). Face-down monsters in attack position cannot be flip-summoned (Flip-summoning explicitly requires face-down defense position), but they can be switched to face-down defense position (and then flip-summoned on the next turn). If a face-down attack position monster IS attacked, it flips face-up and flip effects still trigger. Apr 12, 2017 at 12:04
  • @CrouchingKitten I just recently asked a question about face-down attack position that results from the situation KitsuneZeta described. It's a weird situation and I see why they haven't made any cards that can do it after Darkness Approaches came out. Apr 12, 2017 at 16:51
  • There is a ruling from 5/3/2017 that disallows Darkness Approaches from placing a monster in face-down attack position; the card errata reads ".. to face-down defence position". @KitsuneZeta
    – Nij
    Apr 12, 2017 at 19:02

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .