4

"The Phantom Knights" is an archetype that contains a number of Trap cards. They all have an effect that turns them into a Monster with an added effect that says they are not treated as Traps. For instance, The Phantom Knights of Dark Gauntlets.

Send 1 "Phantom Knights" Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to the Graveyard. When an opponent's monster declares a direct attack while you control no cards and this card is in your Graveyard: Special Summon this card in Defense Position as an Effect Monster (Warrior-Type/DARK/Level 4/ATK 300/DEF 600), but banish it when it leaves the field. (This card is NOT treated as a Trap Card.) If Summoned this way, this card gains 300 DEF for each "Phantom Knights" Spell/Trap Card in your Graveyard.

If their effects are negated, do they count as a Monster with negated effects or a Trap card?

  • Add a card description?? – VortexYT Apr 17 '17 at 9:15
  • I rolled back the edit to this question as it took out information that was relevant to the question. – Joe W Apr 17 '17 at 14:59
  • 3
    I've cleaned up your post and added a card description from one of the cards in that archetype. However, I'm not very familiar with this archetype, so if I misunderstood your question, please feel free to change what I've written. – Thunderforge Apr 18 '17 at 18:43
3

Depend on the exact Text but most Phantom Knight Monster has the condition: "(This card is NOT treated as a Trap Card.)"

If the trap has this text, it will not return to be trap if the effect is negate, since it is not an effect but a condition. It is also uneffect by every card that is applied to Trap Cards (MST, Royal Decree, etc) and keeps being a Monster if it change to face-down position.

Without the condition, the answer from simples_mathematics appeal

For Ruling look at the wikia: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:The_Phantom_Knights_of_Shadow_Veil

Also note, that OCG-Ruling don't official apply in tcg tournaments, where the judge has the last word, but still should be used as navigation points

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.