7

In Monopoly, if I roll doubles and land on Chance/Community Chest and receive a "lose your next turn" card, does that cancel my doubles and I get to take my next turn? Do I take my doubles and lose my next turn? Do I lose both?

4
  • 4
    I don't recall a Monopoly card that causes you to lose your turn. Which version are you playing?
    – BJ Myers
    Apr 19, 2017 at 17:52
  • 1
    @BJMyers Many of the newer versions have such a card
    – DonielF
    Apr 19, 2017 at 17:56
  • Yes but which one we need accurate information Apr 19, 2017 at 18:08
  • Jerusalem edition
    – DonielF
    Apr 19, 2017 at 18:09

1 Answer 1

8

In a version of the rules hopefully not too different from yours, doubles are described like this:

If you throw doubles, you move your token as usual... Retaining the dice, throw again...

It does not say "take another turn", so the extra move from doubles is still part of the same turn even though the action you're taking looks a lot like a new turn. Thus if you are told to "lose your next turn" after rolling doubles, you should still finish your current turn normally by rolling again.

If however your rules (or insistent other players) say the reroll is a new turn, then since it's your next turn you would lose it, but you would not lose the following turn.

4
  • Or is "throw again" the same as "take another turn"? I'll have to check my rules to see if you can make the same inference.
    – DonielF
    Apr 19, 2017 at 18:48
  • Yeah, I could see it going the other way depending on minor text differences; the one answer that would really not make sense is losing the doubles and the following turn. Either the reroll is your next turn or it isn't; in neither case should you lose both. Edited answer accordingly. Apr 19, 2017 at 18:55
  • 1
    Yep, mine says take another turn.
    – DonielF
    Apr 19, 2017 at 19:12
  • 5
    @DonielF The wording in your rules is sort of non-sensical. If rolling doubles gives you "another turn," you could never "roll a double 3 times in the same turn" and "Go To Jail."
    – SocioMatt
    Apr 19, 2017 at 19:37

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .