Full question in title. Do equipment effects always override creature effects even tho the creature effects are superior?

  • 2
    The "full question" in your title is a different question than the one in your description text - whether equipments in general override creature's effects is entirely different from the question of the specific effects named here. Commented Apr 21, 2017 at 10:28
  • 1
    I think this question may be labouring under some unclear or mistaken assumptions: that "creature effects are superior" (the rules don't define anything like that, so I don't know what you mean), that Prowler's Helm "overrides creature effects", that the Prowler's Helm wording means "can be blocked by walls". I suggest you ask about specifics, rather than try to extract a generalised principle, given the generalised principle you're asking about appears to be based on notions not consistent with the game's rules. Commented Apr 21, 2017 at 13:01

2 Answers 2


You seem to be asking about a creature with

[This creature] can't be blocked.

equipped with a Prowler's Helm that has

Equipped creature can't be blocked except by Walls.

Each of these abilities creates a blocking restriction, and all blocking restrictions must be obeyed.

509.1b The defending player checks each creature he or she controls to see whether it’s affected by any restrictions (effects that say a creature can’t block, or that it can’t block unless some condition is met). If any restrictions are being disobeyed, the declaration of blockers is illegal. [...]

So that means it's can't be blocked by any creature, and it can't be blocked by non-Wall creatures. The result is that it can't be blocked by any creature.


In Magic, can't always wins from can.

The creature says:

[This creature] can't be blocked.

The Prowler's Helm says:

Equipped creature can't be blocked except by Walls.

This will simply result in:

Can't be blocked

The prowlers helm doesn't add anything.

  • 1
    You misread Prowler. It doesn't give walls the ability to block. It takes away the ability of non-walls to block. So that means you have two "can't" (restrictions). It comes down CR 509.1b, not CR 101.2.
    – ikegami
    Commented Apr 21, 2017 at 7:45

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .