I'm playing Risk, the Hasbro game on my iPad.

How are cards awarded once someone eliminates a single player? Sometimes it's 2, sometimes it's 4.


1 Answer 1


It's possible the iPad version is using different rules, but the official rules for the classic Risk Game are as follows:

Eliminating an opponent.

If during your turn you eliminate an opponent by defeating his or her last army on the game board, you win any RISK cards that player has collected.

So you get all of the cards that the opponent had on hand. This will never be more than 6 cards (which is only possible if you somehow defeated a player who had just defeated another player on their turn). It does occur BEFORE drawing a RISK card from conquering a territory this turn, as your turn hasn't ended yet.

There are two highly-relevant bullet points with regards to this:

  1. If you gain enough risk cards to cause you to have 6 or more cards on hand as a direct result of defeating an opponent, you MUST trade the cards in immediately for reinforcements so that you have 5 or fewer cards.
  2. If you have 5 cards as a result of defeating an opponent and then your additional card from conquering a territory puts you at 6 cards, you trade at the start of your NEXT turn.
  • 1
    This answer is generally good, but is version dependant. Note that other versions state that you must trade in if eliminating another player gives you 5 or more cards, to make it consistent with the normal rule for trading in if you have 5 at the start of your turn. See this excellent answer on another question.
    – AndyT
    Apr 27, 2017 at 13:50
  • Yeah that's what happens in the hasbro game Apr 29, 2017 at 12:34

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .