1

In the co-op game The Big Book of Madness, the rules say the following about when you acquire a new Element card:

As long as one is available, you can acquire 1 Element card of value 2 or 3 from the middle of the table. You must spend Elements of the same type as the Element card you wish to acquire. [...] When you acquire an Element card, place it in your discard.

So you spend several Element cards to acquire a new Element card of the same combined value. The new card goes in your discard.

Do you destroy the spent Element cards or do they go in your discard as well?

  • why would they be destroyed? Every other time you use an element card it is placed in your discard. – Joe W May 1 '17 at 23:32
  • That's what I thought but destroying small element cards would also increase the odds of getting higher cards from your deck. Just wanted to make sure. – svassr May 2 '17 at 13:57
  • You are correct that destroying lesser value cards would make it easier to get higher value, and thus better, cards from your deck. That is the reason why they are harder to destroy as you are already making the deck better by adding the cards and removing the old cards would make it even better. – Joe W May 2 '17 at 14:07
  • So the way to improve your deck would be to use combustion on the 1 element cards to destroy them. Though it would make your deck turnover quicker and increase the pace of madness kicking in. – svassr May 3 '17 at 20:19
  • Yes, using that spell and others that destroy cards is the only way remove cards to improve your deck. – Joe W May 3 '17 at 20:46
1

You place the cards used in the discard pile as stated in the action phase section of the rules.

During the Action phase, you may use your Element and Spell cards to try to vanquish the Monster and keep it in the Grimoire. Five actions are possible:
• Activate a Spell
• Learn a new Spell
• Acquire an Element card
• Destroy a Curse
• Cure one of your Madness cards
You may take as many actions as you wish, in any order, as many times as you like, as long as you have the Element cards to pay for them. Each action costs a number of Elements, which you must pay by discarding Element cards from your hand or from the support pool or a combination of both.
Whenever you pay an Activation Cost, you must discard enough Element cards to produce at least as many Elements as required for the action. Excess Elements spent on an Action are lost. They cannot be used for another Action.
A single Element card cannot be used for multiple Actions.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.