If Ensoul Artifact is attached to an artifact, then Lignify is later attached to the same artifact, does the base power of the creature you are targeting change to 0/4 even if Ensoul Artifact is still in play and effect, stating the creature to be a 5/5?


If two continuous effects change the same characteristic in the same way, then those effects are applied in the order they were created (this is known as timestamp order).

In this case, both Ensoul Artifact and Lignify set the enchanted creature's base power and toughness. Ensoul Artifact entered the battlefield first, so Ensoul Artifact sets the creature's base power and toughness to 5/5, then Lignify sets the creature's base power and toughness to 0/4. The result is that the creature has base power and toughness 0/4.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.