1

Can you move a piece from start with a backwards 4 card?

5
  • See this question - you have to be at least two spaces beyond the START zone.
    – BJ Myers
    May 7 '17 at 16:56
  • @BJMyers It sounds like you're interpreting that answer incorrectly: you are allowed to move a piece backwards 4 from start or anywhere else. On a subsequent turn, if you have moved backwards at least 2 from start - i.e. if Safety is now "ahead" of you rather than behind you (note that it's 2 spaces away from start) - then you are allowed to move forward into Safety. May 7 '17 at 18:16
  • @BenjaminCosman Yep, you're correct. My bad. :)
    – BJ Myers
    May 7 '17 at 18:27
  • 1
    @BJMyers makes a good point in his answer below: by "start" do you mean what the game calls START or do you mean the track space right outside it? To get a pawn from START onto the track, you need a 1 or 2. May 7 '17 at 19:00
  • 2
    Retracting my duplicate vote. The other question is about a pawn that's already moved out of start.
    – GendoIkari
    May 7 '17 at 19:37
3

No. From the official rules (emphasis mine):

To move a pawn from your START out onto the track, you must draw either a 1 or a 2... You may not start a pawn out with any other cards.

1
  • I'd give good odds that OP intended to ask about moving backwards from the space right outside of START to bypass going around the board, because that's what everyone asks when they learn this game (with good reason: it's an extraordinarily powerful move). Nonetheless, +1 for noticing that OP might be asking a different question. May 7 '17 at 19:09

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.