2

This question already has an answer here:

Cards the say target player, but say nothing about Planeswalkers such as those printed before Planeswalkers were a thing. Can i target a planeswalker in place of a player?

marked as duplicate by GendoIkari, Toon Krijthe, Benjamin Cosman, David Z, doppelgreener May 12 '17 at 22:49

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

3

No, a planeswalker cannot be targeted by a card unless explicitly stated; however, they can be damaged by cards that target players.

This is called the Planeswalker redirection rule:

306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied.

So, anything that can damage a player has been pseudo-errata'd to be able to damage a planeswalker.

  • As i thought, it makes sense to say non-combat damage. Planeswalkers can't "Gain X Life" or "Draw a Card"... Thank you. Would you be so awesome as to include 614.9 and 616 too? (Anyone? Moderator?) – Konner Rasmussen May 12 '17 at 18:30
  • 2
    @KonnerRasmussen Those rules just describe how to actually do the redirection. Why you are able to do it comes from 306.7. – JonTheMon May 12 '17 at 18:34
  • because it would increase the overall quality of the answer. – Konner Rasmussen May 12 '17 at 19:03
  • I suppose it would make the answer more useful to quote or link to those rules, but I do believe this post in its current form constitutes a complete answer to the question. It's easy enough to look up the rules. – David Z May 12 '17 at 22:24
3

A Player is not a Planeswalker (although they are representing one, thematically).

It really depends of the target qualifier of the spell or ability in question. You can direct noncombat damage that would hit a player to a Planeswalker they control.

From the MtG Comprehensive Rules

306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied.

  • Is there a rule that states out that a player isn't a Planeswalker? Or is there just no rule that says otherwise? – winklerrr Jun 24 '18 at 10:36
  • 1
    Rule 102.1 defines a Player as one of the people in the game. Rule 110.4 defines a Planeswalker as a Type of Permanent, which is a card. Rule 306.7 removes the "Planeswalker Redirection" rule and specifies that Planeswalkers can be targeted directly. – Ayatollah of Rock 'n' Rolla Jun 25 '18 at 12:42

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.