I'm talking of course about abilities that trigger "when entering the battlefield". For instance the Channeler Initiate is returned from the graveyard, does it require to put 3 -1/-1 counters?


Yes, enters-the-battlefield abilities triggers regardless of a permanent's previous zone, unless explicitly stated.

Channeler Initiate will force you to put -1/-1 counters when coming into play, regardless of it being played from your hand, coming back from the graveyard, from exile, etc...

Here's the related bit of rules :

603.6a Enters-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent enters the battlefield. These are written, “When [this object] enters the battlefield, . . . “ or “Whenever a [type] enters the battlefield, . . .” Each time an event puts one or more permanents onto the battlefield, all permanents on the battlefield (including the newcomers) are checked for any enters-the-battlefield triggers that match the event.


When any creature is placed on the battlefield from any location (hand, deck, exile, graveyard) it has "entered the battlefield." Therefore, yes, "When ~ enters the battlefield" effects do apply.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.