2

Ursula Downs, from the Mountains of Madness expansion to Eldritch Horror, has the special ability:

Once per round, you or another investigator on your space may spend 1 less Focus to pay for an effect.

One of the effects that an investigator can use a Focus token for is to re-roll a die during a test. This costs 1 Focus.

Does this mean that Ursula can pay 0 Focus to re-roll one die, once per round? And if so, does she need to "prove she could pay", i.e., have 1 Focus in hand, or is it just free?

4

It is just free. You may pay one less so you may pay zero to reroll. This is different from a situation such as "when an investigator would gain a clue, gain an extra clue" which is somewhat the wording you are looking for where a conditional would require something before adding a bonus to it.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.