Filigree Angel has an ability that triggers when it enters the battlefield, which has you gain 3 life for each artifact you control.

It is itself an artifact creature. If I have no other artifacts on the battlefield when it comes into play, do I gain 3 life?

  • The way I find this easy to remember is that if an object couldn't see itself when it entered the battlefield, the "when it enters the battlefield" trigger wouldn't trigger!
    – Samthere
    Jul 11 '17 at 9:35

Yes (assuming nothing else happens). The basic reason that it happens is that the artifact creature is already on the battlefield when the trigger happens.

When it enters the battlefield, that trigger puts the life gain effect on the stack. When that effect resolves, it counts how many artifacts you control at that point and you gain 3x life.

So, if an opponent removes the angel while the life gain is on the stack, you end up gaining no life.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.