2

Okay, so I have a commander deck that allows me to draw my entire library and I stumbled upon a strange situation.

This is the chain of events I want to happen:

  1. Tap Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind with Curiosity attached to form an infinite draw combo.
  2. Cast Psychosis Crawler
  3. Cast Day's Undoing to return my hand and graveyard to my library and draw 7, reactivating the combo with Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind and Curiosity

My question is, during the resolution of Day's Undoing, Psychosis Crawler's power and toughness will be reduced to 0 before I draw my 7 cards (as far as I'm aware?). Does this mean he will die before I activate the draw combo again to win?

  • 4
    Is the Niv-Mizzet part of the question really necessary? – JonTheMon Jul 12 '17 at 13:39
  • 2
    But the actual interaction you're looking at is Psychosis Crawler and Days Undoing. And even that can be boiled down to Crawler and any wheel effect. – JonTheMon Jul 12 '17 at 14:25
  • 3
    I'm confused... wouldn't you have won the game after step 1, before you ever get a chance to cast any of the other things? – GendoIkari Jul 12 '17 at 15:08
  • 2
    Or is the issue simply that the Niv + Curiosity combo can only deal about 85-90 damage before you run out of cards to draw, which wouldn't be enough in a Commander game to kill all opponents? – GendoIkari Jul 12 '17 at 15:13
  • 1
    @GendoIkari Thats the problem. in a multiplayer game i cant kill everyone before I Deck myself and lose. I will be looking for a Laboratory Maniac to further prevent that eventuality. however with Psychosis it deals damage to all opponents giving another possible win con. I may also rely on Fabricate and other tutors to make sure i have Psychosis on the field in the first place. – ThunderToes Jul 13 '17 at 9:21
8

Psychosis Crawler won't die during the resolution of Day's Undoing. Toughness check is done as a state-based action. State-based actions are checked after each spell/trigger is done resolving.

704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. If any ...

704.4. Unlike triggered abilities, state-based actions pay no attention to what happens during the resolution of a spell or ability.

  • 3
    Re "State-based actions are checked after spells/triggers are done resolving.", That makes it sound like they are performed after all spells/abilities on the stack are done resolving, but that's wrong. I suggest the following alternate wording: State-based actions aren't checked during the resolution of a spell or ability; they are only checked when a player would get priority. – ikegami Jul 12 '17 at 22:28
  • Note that triggers, on the hand, are constantly checked, if permanent had an ability that triggered "whenever a creature is reduced to zero toughness", it would trigger. – ikegami Jul 12 '17 at 22:34
  • @ikegami Just had a brain wave, does that mean that I wouldnt have to untap Niv mizzet because during Days undoing, the 7 card draw would initiate the combo with Curiosity again right? Essentially meaning I could cut Dramatic Reversal out of this situation? – ThunderToes Jul 19 '17 at 6:54
  • @ThunderToes, Correct. – ikegami Jul 19 '17 at 6:59
  • Wonderful. Less manna to enable this then :) – ThunderToes Jul 19 '17 at 7:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.