My 4/4 lifelink creature is blocked by his 1/1 indestructible creature. How much life do I gain, if any?


1 Answer 1


You will gain 4 life.

Lifelink and indestructible have no special interactions with each other. Your 4/4 will deal 4 damage to the 1/1, and you will gain 4 life. This is the same as if your 4/4 had dealt damage to any other creature. It doesn't matter how much toughness the defending creature has, or whether it will eventually die.

510.1a Each attacking creature and each blocking creature assigns combat damage equal to its power. Creatures that would assign 0 or less damage this way don’t assign combat damage at all.

  • 1
    @Tony: If you believe your question has been sufficiently answered, please accept one of the answers to remove it from the unanswered queue. You should also comment only to add informational value to the post. Commented Jul 19, 2017 at 16:23
  • The rules definition of indestructible would be helpful here; as the confusion seems to come from not being sure if indestructible creatures are dealt damage.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Jul 19, 2017 at 18:58
  • 1
    @GendoIkari I considered it originally, but ultimately decided not to include the rules quote because it doesn't make a difference whether the creature has indestructible or not (just as it doesn't matter if the creature ultimately lives or dies). I feel the extra text will just add to that confusion. (Plus the rules text is basically just "This creature doesn't die to lethal damage.")
    – Malco
    Commented Jul 19, 2017 at 19:12

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .