3

My opponent controls Neheb, the Eternal (a 6/5 creature with afflict 3), and attacks me with it. If I block Neheb with a creature that will kill it, will I still take damage from afflict?

  • 1
    Yes. In fact, you will lose 3 life before creatures deal damage to each to each other. – ikegami Aug 10 '17 at 17:05
7

Yes, you still lose life from Afflict

You even do so long before your opponent's creature dies - Afflict is a triggered ability that triggers when a player declares a blocker for that creature. What happens to that creature afterwards is irrelevant to this ability. Also note that it's not damage, but loss of life.

702.129a Afflict is a triggered ability. “Afflict N” means “Whenever this creature becomes blocked, defending player loses N life.”

So, in your Declare Blockers step, Afflict triggers, eventually resolves, and causes you to lose 3 life. Following that step is the Combat Damage Step, in which your creature will deal lethal damage to your opponent's creature.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.