1

If a thief is already wearing a hat in Munchkin, is it possible that he can attempt to steal someone else's hat, even if he can't wear it? What about if he sells it immediately?

10

From the rules:

All Items you have in play are considered "carried." Items that are actually giving you a bonus are "equipped."

Anyone can carry any Item (except for extra Big items), but you may equip only one Headgear, [etc.] ... If you are carrying two Headgear cards, for instance, you can equip only one of them at a time.

This means that even if an item can't be equipped (because you already have an item equipped in that slot, or any other reason), it can still be carried, so a thief can still steal it and just carry it.

4
  • 2
    Oh! Is that where he plays it sideways and then it gives no bonus?
    – Scalia
    Aug 13 '17 at 22:21
  • 2
    Yes, "You should indicate Items that are not equipped by turning the cards sideways." Aug 13 '17 at 22:23
  • Alright! I'm gonna leave it open for a bit see what else I can gather but thank you very much. :)
    – Scalia
    Aug 13 '17 at 22:29
  • I concur. Nothing in the ability says the thief can only steal items they can equip. If they don't want to equip the item, they may merely carry it.
    – ikegami
    Aug 13 '17 at 23:03
-3

I found this on the munchkin forum.

When the Item is stolen, it stays in play.

I guess this means in order to steal the item you must be able to keep it in play. If you have the open space, you can steal and sell immediately, but if you cannot keep it in play, you cannot steal.

http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.php?p=1047228&

3
  • 1
    What's the "open space" to which you're referring? Aug 13 '17 at 23:20
  • I mean if you're already wearing a headgear, that is not open to wear another headgear.
    – Scalia
    Aug 13 '17 at 23:21
  • @Scalia Carried items are in play but not equipped. By staying in play it means it doesn't go into the hand of the thief, not that it must be immediately equipped.
    – Andrew
    Jan 9 '18 at 20:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.