If I control a Renegade Doppelganger and I play Umara Raptor and choose for Renegade Doppleganger to copy it, would the Renegade Doppleganger get the +1/+1 counter?

  • Are you asking about the 'when Umara Raptor enters the battlefield' part, or the 'when another Ally enters the battlefield' part of the ability? Since the first one is a duplicate of the one marked, but the second one would have a different reason (the answer is still no though)
    – diego
    Commented Aug 14, 2017 at 18:28

2 Answers 2


No. This is covered in the rulings for Renegade Doppelganger:

If Renegade Doppelganger becomes a copy of another creature, that doesn’t count as having a creature enter the battlefield. Renegade Doppelganger was already on the battlefield; it only changed its characteristics. If Renegade Doppelganger gains any enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities, they won’t do anything. The same is true of any “as [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[this creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities.



Your renegade doppelganger will become an Umara raptor. but renegade doppleganger is not a Umara Raptor when Umara Raptor entered the battlefield and thus will not recieve a +1/+1 counter.

See following explanation:

Umara Raptor enters the battlefield:2 abilities will trigger

  • Umara raptor will put a +1/+1 counter on itself.
  • Renegade Doppelganger becomes a copy of Umara Raptor

There are currently no other "when ... enters the battlefield abilities present"

Both abilities will resolve. Umara Raptor is already on the battlefield after this.

EDIT: Note that Umara Raptors trigger can be split into 2 parts:

  1. Whenever Umara Raptor enters the battlefield (see BJ Myers answer, the Renegade Doppelganger never enters the battlefield because of his cloning ability)
  2. or another Ally enters the battlefield under your control (adressed in this answer)
  • So if I played two uma raptors and compied the first one withRenegade would he get a +1/+1 when the second entered
    – user21560
    Commented Aug 14, 2017 at 14:46
  • That is correct. Commented Aug 16, 2017 at 6:32

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .