2

Accordingly to these rules, when you roll a 7 before the first barbarians' arrival, you have to drop half of your deck, if you have more than 7 cards.

The rules in the Italian version of the game say that nothing happens when you roll a 7 before the barbarians arrival.

Which is the correct one?

4

The English rules are correct; you still must discard half your hand if you are holding too many cards. You can find the latest edition of the rulebook on catan.com here. It says;

The robber cannot be moved until after the barbarians reach the island of Catan for the first time. Until the first barbarian attack, if you roll a "7", each player must check if he is holding too many cards as usual; however, you do not move the robber from the desert and you do not steal a card from another player.

  • 1
    ooh - when did they change that? I'm sure it always used to be that there was no special "before the first attack" rules. – xorsyst Aug 31 '17 at 16:15
  • 1
    @xorsyst I also don't remember learning that rule back when I learned Cities and Knights, back when the Soldiers were Soldiers and the game was "Settlers of Catan". – GendoIkari Sep 1 '17 at 5:31
  • 1
    @Gendolkari - I may have learned it way back when Soldiers where Ritters and the game was "Die Siedler von Catan" :D. – xorsyst Sep 1 '17 at 8:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.