I have two rule clarifications that we've run into that we haven't been able to find an answer to while playing the Millionaire's Row expansion of Machi Koro:

  1. Can you use a Moving Company to move itself?
  2. Is a renovation token removed from cards when the number is rolled but they don't do anything. For instance, a Corn Field activates on 3-4, but only if you have less than 2 monuments. Would a renovation token be removed from a Corn Field if 4 was rolled but the player had 2 or more monuments?
  • Is this about an expansion or spinoff?
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Aug 16, 2017 at 14:10
  • Both of those cards are from expansions, I just don't remember which ones.
    – Coda17
    Commented Aug 16, 2017 at 17:57
  • "Moving Company" and the renovation tokens are introduced in the Millionaire's Row expansion.
    – goldPseudo
    Commented Aug 16, 2017 at 18:19

1 Answer 1


According to the Note for the Moving Company card in the rules

The Moving Company can be given to other players

So the answer to the first part of your question is "yes."

The same rules also say

The next time a rollwould activate this Establishment and earn income, remove the token instead ...

They go on to give some examples of how card color (activating on your own rolls or other player rolls) behave. In the example you provided, the Corn field would not activate and earn income, therefor the renovation marker remains.

It makes sense if you think of it as the next round of income for the card paying for the required renovations and re-opening the establishment. If it never earns any income, the renovations never happen.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .