4

I have a commander / EDH deck running Rakdos, Lord of Riots as my commander. (This isn't a tournament legal deck by the way, just for casual play with friends) I've got Endless One in the deck as well. My question is, though: With Rakdos out, could I be able to get Endless One out, for free, with as much +1/+1 counters in it as there was damage dealt to opponents that turn? Or would I have to pay even one mana for it?

6

Yes, if you choose a value for X that is less than or equal to the amount of life your opponents have lost this turn, you can cast Endless One for free.

While casting a spell, one of the first steps involves making choices, including the value of X. Then, later, the cost is calculated, including cost increases and cost reductions. So, in this situation, you first choose the number you want for X, then you calculate the cost after Rakdos reduces it. Then you pay that much mana (note that it can't go below {0}).

| improve this answer | |
  • Great! Now I wonder if there's something similar in Orzhov colours that reduces sorcery costs... – TheThirdMage Aug 19 '17 at 17:36
  • 1
    @TheThirdMage You will be pretty hard pushed to find anything of that description in Orzhov. for Instant and sorcery cheating your only port of call is Izzet or mono-blue. – ThunderToes Aug 21 '17 at 9:02
  • Curses. There goes even more powerful Debt to the Deathless. – TheThirdMage Aug 23 '17 at 4:46
2

As the cost reduction is generic mana (the numbered grey symbol in a cost) Rakdos' ability allows you to cast any creatures with only generic symbols in their mana cost for free, provided you have dealt that amount of damage to your opponents this turn.

With Endless One having only the generic component {X} in its mana cost, this can be cast for free with any amount of damage that has been dealt to your opponents. It stands to reason, that the more damage dealt the better as Endless One will grow to unprecedented amounts.

| improve this answer | |
  • 2
    I've made some corrections here. In a cost, the numbered grey symbol isn't colorless mana, it's what we call a generic mana cost, which is a cost that can be paid with any type of mana (including colorless). Colorless mana in a mana cost is represented by the new colorless mana symbol, though it was exclusively used as a cost in the Oath of the Gatewatch set such as on Kozilek, the Great Distortion. – doppelgreener Aug 21 '17 at 9:38
  • @doppelgreener Oh! my bad yes... rookie mistake on my part haha. – ThunderToes Aug 21 '17 at 11:12
  • Easy mistake to make! The generic mana cost symbol did used to mean both colorless and generic mana and the designers decided it needed to be differentiated because of mixups. :) (compare Theros Unknown Shores vs OGW Unknown Shores) – doppelgreener Aug 21 '17 at 11:16
  • I realized it changed in OGW as it was one of the first blocks I got back into when I started magic again. I completely forgot about it. :P – ThunderToes Aug 21 '17 at 11:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.