In Pandemic Iberia, the rules for the Malaria historical disease state:
When infecting with black, whenever you would put 1 black cube into a city that has no black cubes in it, add 2 black cubes instead.
Does an outbreak create one black cube in the adjacent cities or two?
- Case for not applying to outbreaks: There is an Infect step, and the rules for outbreaks are not described in that section, they are in the next section. Furthermore the rules for outbreaks use the word place, not the word infect:
Then, place 1 cube of the disease color on every city connected to the city
- Case for applying to outbreaks: The rules use the word whenever, which implies more than one situation. Additionally, the word infect is not capitalized. Finally, the flavor text on the card says
NEW INFECTIONS ARE MORE SEVERE
We are not sure. How does it work?
One final thought: not applying to outbreaks makes Malaria sort of toothless and not altogether much more difficult than a basic disease, because in Iberia you can often get away with not cleaning. But this argument is more about balance and less about the text of the rules (perhaps a house rule might be in order?)