So anyone who has been looking at the spoilers for Ixalan has probably come to the conclusion that the Jace, Cunning Castaway + Doubling Season is ridiculously broken.

Following on from this combo, if I created an arbitrarily large number of Jace tokens (say 1,000) and some number (say 500) used their +1 ability, would they all stack meaning if I then connected with the opponent I could potentially deck myself? Or would I just draw a single card.

I'm wondering for the feasability of a Laboratory Maniac combo.

td;lr Is Jace, Cunning Castaway + Doubling Season + Laboratory Maniac possible?

  • 10
    To be fair, Doubling Season + Planeswalker is usually already broken. – ryanyuyu Sep 7 '17 at 16:23
  • Wow... there goes my chances of getting a Laboratory Maniac for my Niv Mizzet Commander Deck, However, Dat Jace Doh... – ThunderToes Sep 8 '17 at 8:02
  • If you're looking to win on Laboratory Maniac, Cephalid Illusionist + Shuko is much lower mana cost and mono-colored. Jace CC + Doubling Season seems better used to just make a couple million 2/2 illusions and attack with them next turn and not need a third card in the combo. – Zags Sep 14 '17 at 23:18
  • To be honest that was more of an example. I just like janky decks with alt win cons. I love simic edh with doubling seasons, so was just wondering whether feasible – RyuAkamatsu Sep 15 '17 at 8:00

Yes, this combo works. Jace, Cunning Castaway's first loyalty ability creates a delayed triggered ability, that triggers when your creatures deal combat damage to an opponent. If you resolve multiple copies of that loyalty ability, then when you deal combat damage to an opponent, each delayed triggered ability will trigger and resolve separately and you will draw a card then discard a card that many times.


Yes, that combo would work to win you the game.

Jace, Cunning Castaway's -5 ability and Doubling Season would allow you to create an arbitrary number of Jace copies. Those Jaces that didn't use an ability yet this turn can activate their +1 ability, and all of them would trigger on your combat damage. With Laboratory Maniac under your control and more Jace +1 triggers than cards in your library, you would win as soon as the (n+1)-th trigger has resolved.


Yes, although the Labratory Maniac seems redundant. You can already get infinite creatures through Jace's second ability, so you can just swing in for a ton of damage with those and win.

  • 3
    To be fair, the Illusions don't have haste, so that approach requires you to wait a turn, while the Lab Maniac win can happen during the same turn's upkeep. – murgatroid99 Sep 8 '17 at 1:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.