8

If I play a "Stealth Tower" base on my turn, can it copy a base that my opponent still has in play? The text says any base in play, but are your opponents bases considered in play during your turn?

enter image description here

Bonus question: If I destroy the base that "Stealth Tower" is coping, does it affect "Stealth Tower" or is it still a copy until end of turn?

10

Your opponents bases are In Play so Stealth Tower can copy them too.

After Stealth Tower copies a base, it remains a copy of that base regardless of what happens to the original (destroyed or returned to hand, etc).

This relies on an understanding of what "In Play" means in the context of this game.

A Player Turn consists of three phases: Main, Discard and Draw.

1) Main Phase

At any time during your Main Phase you may perform any of the following actions, in any order you wish.

  • Play cards from your hand
  • Use the Primary Abilities of in-play Bases
  • Use the Ally/Scrap abilities of in-play Ships and Bases
  • Use Trade to acquire new cards from the Trade Row
  • Use Combat to attack an opponent and/or their Bases

Playing Cards: There is no cost to play a card, simply place it in-play (face-up on the table in front of you [the active player]). There are two types of cards you can have in your deck: Ships and Bases.

Bases: Unlike Ships, Bases are not discarded at the end of the turn. Instead, they remain in-play until they are destroyed or scrapped.

2) Discard Phase

  • Lose any Trade remaining in your Trade Pool
  • Lose any Combat remaining in your Combat Pool
  • Put all in-play Ships into your Discard Pile [and leave all Bases in-play]
  • Put any cards left in your hand into your Discard Pile

3) Draw Phase

Draw five cards, then your turn ends

In the Main Phase the first action says you can play cards from your hand. Playing a card involves putting the card from your hand in-play in front of you. During the Discard Phase all in-play Ships are discarded, but Bases (and Outposts, which are Bases) remain in-play. Therefore Bases Played by any player are in-play, even after their turn ends.

  • Can you cite sources that prove your answer is correct? – John G Hohengarten Oct 1 '17 at 22:01
  • 1
    "In Play" is clearly defined in the rules. I've added the relevant text in hopes of clarifying the meaning of this term and the way that it affects the answer to this question. – Ayatollah of Rock 'n' Rolla Oct 2 '17 at 13:14
  • And it works that way in the online implemenation ;) – Lot Oct 3 '17 at 11:53
  • I'd have to find the source code to cite that :) – Ayatollah of Rock 'n' Rolla Oct 3 '17 at 11:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.