1

The card Inspiring Statuary states:

Nonartifact spells you cast have improvise. (Your artifacts can help cast those spells. Each artifact you tap after you're done activating mana abilities pays for {1}.)

Are Planeswalkers considered Nonartifact spells, and therefore gain the keyword Improvise?

  • Even Karn Liberated is not an artifact. – Neil Meyer Sep 28 '17 at 11:16
  • @NeilMeyer I checked on him specifically before making my post! – GendoIkari Sep 29 '17 at 18:37
3

Yes. A spell is anything that you cast to put on the stack. Basically every card except lands have the potential to be spells by casting them. As a planeswalker isn't an artifact (one could be, but none currently are), it is a nonartifact spell.

111.1. A spell is a card on the stack. As the first step of being cast (see rule 601, “Casting Spells”), the card becomes a spell and is moved to the top of the stack from the zone it was in, which is usually its owner’s hand. (See rule 405, “Stack.”) A spell remains on the stack as a spell until it resolves (see rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities”), is countered (see rule 701.5), or otherwise leaves the stack.

5

Planeswalkers are nonartifact spells. They do not have artifact on the type line, therefore, they are nonartifacts.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.