The card Master Transmuter reads:

{U}, {T}, Return an artifact you control to its owner’s hand: You may put an artifact card from your hand onto the battlefield.

Can Master Transmuter return a token artifact to your hand (which causes it to cease to exist) and then put an artifact card from hand to the battlefield (like Metalwork Colossus)

  • Technically, whatever object you return to your hand ceases to exist, token or not.[CR 400.7] (The fact that the new object in your hand also ceases to exist in the case of a token is irrelevant.) – ikegami Oct 1 '17 at 19:14
  • 1
    And so does the mana you payed to cover the {U} cost. – ikegami Oct 1 '17 at 19:17

Yes, the artifact was returned to your hand. The fact it then ceased to exist doesn't matter, you still returned it to your hand.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.